Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

I'm not sure why, but I'm totaly spellbound.

First some explanations:
1. I bought this book last time I went to Åbo, since my dvd-player felt like being out of order. When I saw that it was book number 3 I decided to not read it untill I got my hands on the books preceding it. The other book I bought  didn't hold my interest so I began reading "Eclipse" anyway. And like I said, I was spellbound =)
2. Why write this in english? Because the book is in english and therefor also my thougts about it. I'm completly fluent in the language, I read it as quickly as swedish and have caught myself from time to time thinking in english.

I've been "bookworming" for more than 15 years and never, ever been this touched buy an author. Sure, I don't give the story that much credit ("worming" for all those years, seen this, read that) it's just a lovestory, although a very thrilling and exiting one =)

But the way she writes? That's what keeps me awake at night, reading when I should be sleeping! No good, staying up with a book till 2 am when your wake-up call is around 5.30..

My prefered reading is fantasy, followed by sci-fi and mythology. During "worming" lapses I will devour (the term for bookworm in swedish translates in to the more correctly book-devourer) anything that crosses my path, so I've really tried all genres.
I have a vivid imagination, and usually paint beautiful scenarios in my head as I read. This time I didn't get to do the painting, I was blown away by the strength of the images passing in the back of my head as I read the book.
Although I missed a great deal about the situations because I hadn't read the first two books I loved it.  I've never seen images so clearly the first time I read a book. Yes, I'm a re-reader, if I like a book it will be read back to back many, many times.

But I did have one major error. I was convinced for almost a quarter of the book that "la push" was some nightclub that Jacob and his friends were hanging out at  =D  Laughed myself silly over that one *still felling very lol about it*

So what do you do when someone play your brainsensors like that? For the first time ever, I felt I wanted to write to the author and thank her for giving me this experience. It was something I didn't even know I missed in my life. I don't think I will ever be able to live without it now.
Checking out the official website of Stephenie Meyer, and reading her own words about creating "Twilight" I realised that there were the same way of painting in my brain being used there. I laughed so hard that my fiance's flat-mates started to wonder if I was sitting in his room getting drunk all by my self... *sometimes I'm really marvel with people who should know me better...*

I also realised I wasn't the first person to discover her greatness *lol* To my disapointment there were no fan-mail, or even link there of. Scanning the website I later found that there just had been to much mail for her to take care of =)  But still, I feel a need to express my gratitude. I felt really deflatet when I realised I wouldn't be able to do that directly.
Well, since this seems to be the only way for me to do so, I'll post it here in my own blogg, pestering the few readers I have with it.
Of course I cant stop here =) I'll probably send an e-mail to the webmaster (who happens to be her brother) with a link to this entry. I do believe it will end up in his "junkmail"-folder, but hey, can't blame a girl for trying.

I can also say that I'm in agony, waiting for the three other books to arrive, the bookstore had to order dem, and their supplier seemed to be out of them and so on and so on. *deep sigh* My yearning for these books are as strong as Bellas's craving for Edwards (aw, if you've read the last quarter of eclipse, you'll know what I mean) capitulation. I need them desperatly.
And NO, the translation will not do! I do not trust anyone who translates:
"twilight"        -> "if I could dream"
"new moon"   -> "when I hear your voice"
"eclipse"       -> "the sound of your heart"
I love Stephenies way of words, I think that for me, the magic would be lost in translation.

And to finnish of; my story of reading...
One of the first days in school they tested our reading abilities together with spelling and counting. I was given the easiest reading book, and did poorly with it. One day, a few weeks later, one of the girls let me see her book (the most difficult one) and I marched up to my teacher, convincing him to give me that one instead. I succeded, and my reading improved rapidly. I didn't give a *blip* about the facts, which the easiest book consisted of, I wanted the story =) My spelling didn't improve at all, I'm so terrible at grammar to this day it's unbelievable I graduated elementary school at all.

I'll post a few links, just to make everything so much more confusing =)
www.stepheniemeyer.com/twilight        the official website
www.spellcheck.net     Hey, I'm all but completly useless att spelling
www.google.fi           google...

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0